What Is a Literary Lion?

lionWe are grateful to all of our donors for their support of the library. Our Literary Lions are those donors whose cumulative gifts have reached particular thresholds of giving. We recognize their generosity on our donor wall at the main Duluth Public Library, but at this time, our donor wall has been temporarily removed to accommodate a redesign of the library lobby. In the interim, we are pleased to list these donors on our website, with appreciation.

carnegieANDREW CARNEGIE ($10,000+)
Royal and Karen Alworth John and Elaine Killen
Anonymous Friend Designated Fund of the Bernice Lindquist Trust
Duluth Superior Area Community Fdn. E.C. Mason Fund of the Duluth
Arthur and Mary Aufderheide    Superior Area Community Fdn.
Doris Becker Estate Elisabeth C. Mason
Casperson Book Club Wildey H. Mitchell Family Fund
Katharine Coventry Margaret Orlich
Beverly Ellstrom Estate Shelia Petrovich
Thomas and Katherine Gibson Walter and Alyce Rauschenfels
Charles House Nathaniel Rowe
Lloyd K. Johnson Foundation Olga Walker Trust
John and Beth Kelly
Arrowhead Library System Tom and Kris Rauschenfels
Vera M. Dunbar Trust Robin’s Fund
Ruth Ann Eaton Mary Schlosser and Stewart Hazel
Leona Gifford Fred and Janet Schroeder
Valerie Goff Tim and Judy Sheriff
Lillian Goldfine Vera M. Dunbar Swanson Trust
Heimbach-Lachmund Family Lawrence Syck
Dr. William Krossner and Dr. Rhonda Krossner Richard and Mavis Whiteman
Mark and Nancy Melhus
 jane austinJANE AUSTEN ($2,500+)
Steve Adams Robert and Ann Mars
John and Virginia Alexander Ellen Marsden
Robert and Pamela Ardis Donald V. and Nancy J. Moline
Dean Casperson Daniel H. & Catherine L. Mundt Charitable Fund
Friends of Robert F. Eaton    of the Duluth Superior Area Community Fdn.
Essentia Health System Mary Murphy
Vivian Georgesen Joyce Pegors
Louis Gerard Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
Richard and Karen Gran Thomas and Wendy Rectenwald
Betty Halverson Sandra Riordan
Gilbert and Jean Harries Tom and Janice Shuey
Judy Harrison Janet Sklaris
Alan and Susan Hartley St. Scholastica Monastery
Alfred and Ann Hartley Marie Torreano
Jim Jarocki and Kristin Blakeslee David Updegraff
Jonathan Kuchera Mary C. Van Evera
Pakou Ly Jarrow and Elizabeth Wahman
Michael Maloney and Chris Zyzda
 mark twainMARK TWAIN ($1000+)
Alpha Delta Kappa Iota Chapter Labovitz Enterprises
Michael and Ellen Altman Lakeside Chapter No. 225
Alrusa International Club of Duluth Cristine Levenduski
Allan Apter and Brenda Ion Matt and Addie Licari
Ruth Bakke John and Carol Lilyquist
David and Cindy Blomberg Esther Linden
Ben and Mary Boo Loll Designs
Linda Breimon Darrell and Inge Martin
Paul and Jane Brissett maurices
Bryan Brown and Sara Lorbiecki-Brown National Bank of Commerce
Bruce Buchanan Kathy Noble
Friends of Phyllis Byers Northern Lights Books and Gifts
Mary Caven Karen Olesen
Cloquet Shaw Memorial Public Library Fdn. David Ouse
Michael and Dawn Conlan Elizabeth Krause Pearson
Marlene David Frank and Orma Pitoscia
Mary Dragich and John Pastor Daniel Proctor
Lester and Rose Drewes Mary Pulford
Duluth Legacy Endowment Fund of the Duluth Maurice A. and June C. Robinson Fdn.
Superior Area Community Fdn. Marcia Semerau
Duluth News Tribune Lois Shabatura
Susan, Stan, John and David Goltz Dorothy Slonim
William Graham Peter and Sally Sneve
Vinod Gupta David Sproat
Warren Hall Neil Storch
Richard Heimbach Marc and Paula Tsufis
Duke and Clarice Hietala Don and Nancy Tubesing
Oliver and Mary Ann Lucas Houx USG Foundation, Inc.
Warren Howe and Janet Karon Subhash Vidyarthi
Jennifer Jackson Stephen Welsh
Barry and Kang James Jane Wester and Don Treakle
Donald Johnson Whole Foods Co-op
Paul Johnson and Laura Hedlund Geof and Gudrun Witrak
Albert M. and Virginia T. Katz Louise Wold
William Kehtel James, Maria and Zack Wood
Bob and Carol Kelley Janet Worthing
Jeff and Cora Knutson David and Kristin Yapel
Elizabeth Krause Renee Zurn
emilyEMILY DICKINSON ($500+)
3M Gives Byron Johnson and Jocelyn Pihlaja
Dean and Debra Ager Kelly Johnson and Weston Wehr
Deborah Anderson John Judd
James and Beverly Anderson Kaye Klement
Anonymous Frances Knobloch
Arrowhead Reading Council Kohl’s Cares for Kids
Robert Ballou Katie Kuettel
Bank of America Fdn. Lake Superior Medical Society Alliance
Bent Paddle Brewing Company J. Gordon Likely
Betty Bergman Michael and Marta Maddy
Gary and Patricia Berntsen Francis Maki
Ann Biron Dan and Susan Mareck
Bon-Ton Stores Fdn. Susan Myer
Merlyn and Mary Bowker Microsoft
John and Stephanie Brostrom Denis and Margaret Miners
Eve Browning Minnesota Power
Caroline Bye Pamela Mittlefehldt
Dorothy Camper Clinton Moen
Melinda Carlson Diane Nelson
John and Pat Carow Nancy Nelson
Chromaline Corporation Alan Netland
Janice Cleary Judith O’Day
Meredith Cornett Teresa O’Toole
Clyde and Marion Craven Suzanne Palm
Janet Davis William Percy
DeMaioribus Family Perry-Speers Family
Kyle and Jennifer Deming Mary Jane Peterson
Stuart Dickerson James and Margo Philbin
Julie Dickson-Lee Alexis Pogorelskin
Margaret Donovan Anita Pollock
Duluth Public Library Youth Services Staff Sanford and Barbara Porter
Nancy Eaton Rod and Carla Powers
Blanche Ebert James and Kathy Proctor
Diana Engstrom Jim and Helen Prosser
Jeanne Erickson Sarah Proudfit
Mark and Lisa Fitzpatrick Betty Ramsland
Alfred France Friends of Walter and Alyce Rauschenfels
Harold and Ruth Frederick Julie C. Moller Sanford
Friends of Rosemary Frye Joseph Saver
Charles Gessert Schamber Alternative Medicine
Dorothy Gordon Robert Schnuckle
Steven and Cynthia Grindy Michael Schrage and Jennifer Smith
William Grohs Kate Scott
Michael Grossman and Holly Church John and Nancy Sedgwick
Mark Guisfredi Tom and Julie Seidelmann
Ronald and Cynthia Gullicks Friends of Phil Semerau
Peter Handberg F. Dale and M. Jan Simmons
Hanft Fride Daniel and Rosemary Skorich
Richard and Laura J. Hanson Jeffrey Speer
Joan Hedrick Steve and Kim Squillace
Clay Helberg St. Luke’s Hospital
Kevin Hendrickson Michael and Jennifer Stattelman
Susan Hill Deborah Strohm
Todd and Janelle Hnatko John and Diane Strongitharm
Dona Holloway Super One Liquor
Glen Holt Edward Swanson and Carsten Slostad
Mary House Richard and L. Cecile Swenson
How Sweet It Is Rodney Tatalovich
Bobbi Hoyt Bryan and Rosella Toney
Leslie Hughes Suzanne Wasilczuk and Tim Stratton
Charles and Susan Hyndman Maryann Weidt
Howard and Elizabeth Jacobson Bill and Wendy Wennberg
Donald and Deborah Johnson Shirley Wuchter
Dr. and Mrs. JeRay Johnson Tim and Anita Zager